jump to navigation

“Jericho” Fans Send Nuts to CBS May 23, 2007 4:03 pm

Posted by Rosario T. Calabria in CBS, Jericho, News, Television.
trackback

Picking up on a line from the first season finale of the canceled television series Jericho, fans of the series are taking on a unique approach when it comes to showing their support for the show. They are sending nuts to CBS. That’s right, nuts, and LOTS of them.

Fans interested in showing their support and getting behind the measure are encouraged to visit the website nutsonline.com, which sells and delivers nuts. The website has set up a specific area for the campaign (“Nuts to you, CBS”), reachable at www.nutsonline.com/jericho.

As of this writing, over 10,000 pounds of nuts have been sent to CBS and other destinations.

Boxes of Nuts Ready to Be Sent

Boxes of NUTS are prepared for shipment.

The measure is in response to CBS’s statement that they are looking into ways to provide some sort of closure to the series. As can be seen from the large response of fans on this site alone, simply providing “closure” isn’t enough.

Following you’ll find a message left by Jeffrey of nutsonline:

Hello Jericho lovers!

From a few orders, to a few more orders, to a few emails, to a lot more emails, we suddenly found ourselves in the middle of a campaign to support a show we had never even watched before. At first I thought you were nuts, but after interacting with a bunch of you I realized how real you were and how I could easily see myself in your place. Maybe I get excited too easily, but I was impressed with your devotion and passion and decided to fully embrace your campaign. As many of you know, we totally scrambled to pull this pooled shipping page off in a matter of hours.

Now we’ve shipped tons of nuts and are frankly amazed at the outpouring of support. I find myself refreshing the page all the time to see the tally grow and grow and grow….Simply amazing. It’s remarkable how such a motley group of people from all over the world can pull together and say “NUTS” to CBS in unison. The Internet is such a beautiful thing.

But let me tell you the most remarkable thing about all of this- the emails I have received from you. I’ve experienced the whole range of emotions, from laughter to tears. Although this isn’t a profitable venture for us now, I do realize the publicity has the potential to do wonders for our business. So, yes, at the end of the day we might come out ahead, but the most rewarding part of all of this is being able to connect with so many nice people. Truly amazing. And for that I am grateful to become a part of the Jericho family and to watch the show online once things settle down.

NUTS!!!

~Jeffrey and the rest of the NutsOnline Family

P.S. The nut campaign will continue. I am hoping that the audience for Jericho truly grows as people like me become intrigued. I wonder if the real trick to getting this back on the air is by watching the episodes online, where CBS can see real, hard data. Ah, just my 2 cents…

A few sites created for saving Jericho can be found at jericholives.com, savejericho.com and nutscbs.com.

Source: NUTS for Jericho

Comments»

1. susangpyp - May 23, 2007 10:07 pm

I am going to visit nutsonline as a result of reading this. I’ve never seen Jericho but I really hate what networks do when they build up a show and then just cancel it like NBC did with The Black Donnellys. I tuned into the first episode and thought it was so good that I called all my friends and told them to watch BD and they all did then it was gone. Just like that.

I remember when Seinfeld was struggling back in the early days and a fan campaign brought it back (I was among the letter writers). I also remember Cagney and Lacey was canceled and then brought back for many successful years. Some shows need time to build. I mean, SEINFELD needed time to build. GIVE SHOWS TIME TO BUILD!

I support the Jericho fans and their nutty outpouring. If CBS renews as a result of this campaign, I will be tuning in!

2. Shane - May 24, 2007 8:17 pm

This could actually work. I wouldn’t be surprised if they stick it in a spot in the lineup where it’s DOA anyway if it does come back (then again, how much worse than up against Idol can you get?), but it’s rare to see this kind of outrage over a show cancellation.

3. Tony - May 26, 2007 11:14 pm

I have an idea how about CSI: Jericho

4. CAM - June 6, 2007 4:17 pm

This is wonderful, but one question…..what is CBS going to do with all of the nuts? They should donate them to the hungry some how.

5. cooltidbits.net » Blog Archive » CBS Orders 7 More Episodes of Jericho - June 14, 2007 11:28 pm

[…] responding to fan outcry, will order seven more episodes to air in midseason. So I guess the “nuts to CBS” campaign had some effect. I think there must still be serious flaws in the Nielson ratings system […]

6. Anyone Loves TV » “Jericho” Fans Send Nuts to CBS - November 6, 2007 10:38 am

[…] read more | digg story […]

7. Alexey - May 30, 2008 4:42 am

The best russian site here!
http://km.ru
Plese visit our site!

8. Cher - May 31, 2008 12:52 am

What about the new billboard that the fans paid to have put up this week in the heart of Studio City. AWESOME. … check out the video … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljP322HfBoA

9. J. Rosenkoetter - December 20, 2008 8:39 pm

The powers that be don’t know a good quality show when they see it. I have seen this happen time and time again and nothing the networks do really matters. If they can’t make a dollar it’s simply no go. All ratings personel don’t know it either.


Leave a comment